Allowing access to only sub-folders

Sometimes, users should have access to limited content in a dataroom. The first step in accomplishing this is to set up a group in the Restrictive Model. If the content that you’d like the group to see is buried deep within the folder structure, you’ll need to create a view path for them to be able to access it.

Step 1 - Set up group & users

  • Go to the Groups & Users tab.
  • Click the Add New Group button, choose a name.
  • Set their Default Content Role as No Access (this means that by default, users won’t have access to anything existing or anything newly added).
  • Follow the rest of the screens to the end (no need to set specific Index Level Permissions at this point), and click Finish.
  • See this article for more details on how to create a group.

 

Step 2 - Add/move users to the group

  • If the users are not yet in the project, click the Add Users button to invite them.
  • If the users are already in another group, use the Move Users Between Groups feature to transfer them into the new group.
  • Learn how to move users between groups.

 

Step 3 - Allow access to subfolder

  • Go to the Documents tab
  • Locate the sub-folder for which the group will have access.
  • Right-click and select Set Permissions.
  • The group you’ve created should have a Content Role of No Access - change this to Viewer.
  • Click Confirm.
  • Click Apply to Folder & Subfolders.
  • Apply new permissions to Selected Groups.

 

Step 4 - Create a View Path

  • Locate the folders that will create a "path" to the sub-folder (ie. Phase I and Human Resources in the image below)

viewpath.gif

  • Right-click each and select Set Permissions
  • The group you’ve created should have a Content Role of No Access - change this to Viewer.
  • Click Confirm.
  • Click Apply to Folder - this is important because it will allow the user to see the folder only, but not subfolders within it. Please note that when Viewer access to a folder is granted, documents directly in that folder also become available.
  • Apply new permissions to Selected Groups.

Step 5 - Use View As to check your work

  • Click the tools icon at the top right and select View As.
  • See this article for more details.