Planned Maintenance: Please be advised that our platform is temporarily unavailable for maintenance on May 29th 2:00 AM EDT - 7:00 AM EDT.

Guide to being a Firmex Site Administrator

A Firmex Site Administrator has administrator privileges over your Firmex site, not just a Firmex project.

As a Site Administrator, you get to control things at the site level. For example:

  • Change your site's login screen appearance
  • Add yourself to a project in case the project administrator is away
  • Examine site usage reports to track how frequently your data room is being used
  • Remove a user from your entire VDR, for example, when an employee leaves your company

As opposed to a Site Administrator, a Project Administrator can only change settings in their own projects, no one else's.

In this guide you’ll learn how to perform common Site Administrator tasks.

Managing Site Projects

 

 

Managing Site Users

Adding Yourself To A Project

To add yourself to a project, do the following:

  1. Go to the Projects list (click your site logo at the top-left corner).
  2. Click the All Projects icon.
    site-admin-project-list.jpg
  3. Select the project you'd like to access or search for the project name. Once found, click the project name.
  4. When you access the project you won't see any documents, as you need to add yourself to the project first. To do so, go to the Groups & Users tab and click the Administrator group and add yourself to it. Learn more about adding users.
  5. Once you've added yourself to the project, go back to the Documents tab. Ensure that you have full access to all of the documents.

Performing a Project Cleanup

To remove a project, you may want to first perform a bulk download of the project. After following the steps above and ensuring you have access to all of a project's documents, perform a bulk download. You may want to create a backup of the information on a shared drive or physical media.

Confirm you have all of the files and folders in the project, including any Q&A questions and report audit trails you may need.

Once you are comfortable you have everything, you can then delete the project. To do so:

  1. Go to the Projects list (click your site logo at the top-left corner).
  2. Click the drop-down menu next to the project name you want to delete.
  3. Select "Delete Project". Type "Confirm" to verify the deletion.
    delete-project.jpg

 

 

From the Blog

More Virtual Data Room Insights

Can't find what you're looking for?

Get instant answers to the most common questions and learn how to use Firmex like a pro. If you need immediate help, reach our support team 24/7 using the link below:

Submit a Request