There may come a time when you need to hide information from certain users in your project. We generally see three scenarios where this is the case, each handled slightly differently:
- The Permissive Project - At the start of your project, the majority of information is shown to users, and you need to hide just a few folders or documents.
- The Restrictive Project - At the start of your project, the majority of information is hidden from users, and you need to show just a few folders or documents.
- Hiding New Information - Users are already in your project and have access to folders and documents. You need to upload new information, but only certain users have access to the new information.
Below you will find general instructions on setting up the two types of projects, as well as adding new information that will be hidden from certain users. For additional information, please contact Firmex Client Services.
The Permissive Project
- By default, information is shown to your users, unless you hide it.
- Set up guests with a default content role of Viewer.
- Set a user’s content role to No Access on folders and documents you would like to hide.
The Restrictive Project
- By default, information is hidden from your users, unless you show it.
- Separate data you would like to hide in to directories (top-level folders).
- Set up guests with a default content role of No Access.
- Set a user’s content role to Viewer on folders and documents you would like the user to access.
Hiding New Information
You are running a “live” project, meaning, users are actively in your data room reviewing documents. You would like to upload a new set of documents, but only have a certain group of users access those documents. The remaining users should not be made aware that the new information has been uploaded.
- Upload the information in an Offline status
- Set permissions for the new information
- Set the information to an Online status