How do I reset a password? Where is the login page? How do I bulk download? Is there a table of contents?

Managing Groups

In the Groups & Users tab, projects Administrators can manage groups in a number of ways outlined below. The Manage Group drop-down menu is accessible from two locations:

  • next to the group's name in the All Groups view or;
  • next to the group's name in the Groups list

 

Copy a group

The copy group function allows an Administrator to easily create new groups with the same permissions as an existing group within the same project. The users in the existing group will not be copied to the new group. Once the group is copied, users can be added to the group and changes can be made to the new group’s permission.

Why would I want to copy a group?

If you want to add users to the project whose access is similar to an existing group except for one or two folders, simply copy the existing group and change the access to the one or two folders before adding or moving the users to the newly copied group.

To copy a group

  1. Click the drop-down menu next to a group and choose Copy Group.
  2. Name the new group and optionally add a description.
  3. Click Save.

What is copied?

In a New groups project, the following is copied:

  • Project Role and Default Content Role
  • Custom content permissions that were applied to folders\documents
  • Document protection settings (Default and Custom)

In a Migrated groups project, the following is copied:

  • Custom content permissions applied to folders\documents
  • Custom document protection settings applied to folders\documents

Not sure if your project is New or Migrated? Click here to find out.

 

Move users between groups

To change users permissions you can move them from one group to another. A user cannot be in more than one group at a time.

To move users between groups

  1. In Firmex, click Groups & Users.
  2. On the left side of the Groups & Users page, click the group name containing the users you want to move. Alternatively, click All Users and find the users you want to move.
  3. Select the users you want to move using the checkboxes next to their name, and click Manage Users > Move Between Groups.
  4. Select the group to move the users into using the checkbox. Review the users you have selected by clicking the Users tab.
  5. Click Save to move the selected users to the selected group.

Warning: Proceed with caution when moving users between groups. There are two areas to consider:

  1. The current group’s project and default content roles may be different than the target group’s project and default content roles. The target group may be more permissive, or more restrictive. Moving users to a new group will give the users the target group’s project and default content role.
  2. Any existing folder permissions set for the selected users will be superseded by the target group’s folder permissions. This may mean that a folder that was previously hidden to the group may be revealed to them, whether intentionally or unintentionally.

Before moving users, we recommend using the View As tool, as well as the Reports > User Access > By Folder report to review user’s settings.

 

Set Default Permissions on a group

Project Administrators can easily change a group's Project Role, Content Role, and Document Protection settings through the Set Default Permissions window.

To set default permissions on a group

  1. Click the drop-down menu next to the group's name and choose Set Default Permissions.
  2. Edit the Project Role, Content Role and Document Protection settings as required, and choose Save

If you'd like to learn more about Project Roles, Content Roles and the different Document Protection options, please see our Permission Guide.

 

 

Set Index Permissions on a group

Project Administrators can edit permissions at the directory level in a project at any time from the Groups & Users tab. The Set Index Permissions option is accessed  through the dropdown menu next to a group’s name. The window shows all the project indices and the group’s content role next to them.  An administrator may change the group’s permission for each index.

To Set Index Permissions on a group

  1. Click the drop-down menu next to the group and choose Set Index Permissions.
  2. Change the index permissions as preferred and choose whether to apply to index & subfolders or just apply to index.

 

Group Status

The group status function lets administrators quickly deactivate or reactivate all the users in a particular group. A deactivated group can no longer access the data room, and will no longer receive document activity notifications.

 To change a group's status

  1. From the Groups & Users tab, hover your mouse over the group's name and click on the drop-down menu.
  2. Select Deactivate\Reactivate Group.

When you deactivate a group, the icons next to the user's names will not change. Rest assured, a user in a deactivated group cannot access the data room.

 

Delete a group

You may delete an empty group from a project. An empty group is a group that contains no users.

To delete a group

  1. In your project, click the Groups & Users tab.
  2. Hover your mouse over the group you want to delete. Click the drop-down menu (down arrow) to the right of the group name, and select Delete Group.

You may re-use the deleted group's name in your project.

Related Resources

>keywords: Hide Folder Folders, 

Start a new deal within hours, not days.

We start 10,000+ new data rooms a year for over 100,000 dealmakers.

Get Started