This short guide outlines the key permissions available in Firmex. It can be printed and used as a quick reference when managing users and projects.
Determines the areas of the project a user in a group has access to. Set once per group per project.
Default Content Role
Determines how a user in a group can manage folders, documents and versions. Default set once per group per project, then can be changed for directories and folders.
Determines the areas of the site a user has access to. Set once per user per site.
Determines a document’s behavior in the Firmex Viewer and if downloaded. Default is set once per group per project, and can be changed for directories and folders.
- Disable Save
Can view documents in Firmex Viewer, but cannot save.
- Disable Print
Cannot print documents from Firmex Viewer or print downloaded PDF and Office files.
- Expire Access
Cannot view documents in Firmex Viewer or open downloaded PDF or Office files after the expiry date.
- Enforce Watermark
Documents in Firmex Viewer and downloaded PDF and Office files will contain a watermark.
- Lock to Computer
Can only view downloaded PDF files and Office files on the computer that was used to first open them. Documents cannot be viewed if forwarded or shared.
Newer projects in Firmex support the document protection options listed above for downloaded PDF and Office files. In some older projects, only downloaded PDF documents may be protected. You can check which file types are protected in your project by going to the Settings tab > Document protection.
Icons provide additional information on permission rules and how they are set.
|Default Group Rule
Uses the group's Default Content Role for the project.
|All Groups Folder Rule
Rule for a folder and its contents for all groups within the project.
|Group Folder Rule
Rule for a folder and its contents for all users in a group.
|Document Protection cannot be applied to this document because it was updated with existing protection or password, or the file type cannot be protected.|
Note that this guide comes in two varieties: New project guide vs. Migrated project guide
This guide you are currently reading is directed at new projects - projects that support setting permissions at the Group level. You may also view this guide for migrated projects.
Unsure if your project is new or migrated? View the guide.