How do I reset a password? Where is the login page? How do I bulk download? Is there a table of contents?

(Groups) Add users in a migrated project

Overview

Adding users to a migrated project can be done in a number of ways, depending on your need:

  1. You may add a user to an existing group,
  2. add a new group and then add a user to it, or
  3. add an Unassigned User and then move that user to a group.

The three options are described in detail, below, as well as information about migrated projects.

Is my project migrated?

All projects created prior to your site's migration date are migrated projects. If you are not sure, you can check if your project is migrated: 

  1. In Firmex, click Groups & Users.
  2. On the left side of the Groups & Users page, click All Groups

If you see the Name and Description columns only, then your project is migrated, since default permission is not set at the group level.

If you see permission-related columns, such as Project Role, Default Content Role, and Default Protection, then your project is new. See this article for instructions on adding users and groups to a new project.

Add a user to an existing group

To add a user to an existing group:

  1. In Firmex, click Groups & Users.
  2. On the left side of the Groups & Users page, click the group name to which you want to add the user. 
  3. Click Add Users.
  4. Follow the steps in the Add Users wizard. When complete, the user will be added to the selected group.

Add a new group, then add a user to it

To add a new group, then add a user to it:

  1. In Firmex, click Groups & Users.
  2. On the left side of the Groups & Users page, click All Groups.
  3. Click Add New Group.
  4. Follow the steps in the Add New Group wizard. When complete, the new group is created.
  5. Follow the steps in the section above (Add a user to an existing group) to add a user to the group.

Adding Unassigned Users

An administrator may choose to add users to a project without adding the users to a group. This may be the case when the administrator wants to set up the users first, and set group permissions later. This can be accomplished by adding users directly to Unassigned Users, or by adding users to All Users. In both cases, users will be added to the project with default permissions of Member / No Access and must be moved to a group before being able to access the project's documents.

Read more about Unassigned Users.

Related Resources

Start a new deal within hours, not days.

We start 10,000+ new data rooms a year for over 100,000 dealmakers.

Get Started