How do I reset a password? Where is the login page? How do I bulk download? Is there a table of contents?

5 frequently asked questions about groups & users

Note: This article reflects the Groups functionality released in January 2016

1. What happened to the Users tab?

We’ve changed the Users tab to include Groups. A group is a collection of users that share the same permissions. You set permissions for the group, and the users of that group inherit those permissions. Those users can come from multiple companies. The group is the thing that houses them together.

Below is a screenshot of a new project.

2. What can I do with Groups that I couldn’t do before?

Groups give Administrators more flexibility in how their users are split and managed. For example, here are some scenarios that you couldn’t easily do before Groups:

  1. Add a new buyer with the same project permissions as an existing buyer.
  2. Give a new investor the same folder permissions as an existing investor.
  3. Split an existing group of users so that one group has one set of permissions, and the other group has another set of permissions.

You can accomplish all of these tasks easily using Groups.

3. What about my existing projects? They had permissions set on a user level. What happens to those once Groups are active?

Your existing permissions for companies, users, and folder permissions were preserved as part of the migration - companies and their permissions are now groups on a one-to-one basis. Individual user permissions remain in place and have not changed.

Existing projects will continue to support permission at the user level. You’ll notice that when you add a group, you can just assign that group a name - not a default permission. You’ll get the full benefit of groups when you add a new project.

4. How do I add users from multiple companies to a group?

Easy! From the left side of the Groups & Users tab, select the group. Then, click Add Users. Enter the user's information, even if they’re from multiple companies, and add them the group. Because permission has been set at the group level, these users will inherit the group’s permission, even though the users are from a different companies.

5. Where can I learn more about groups?

Visit our learning centre to learn more about groups & users. You’ll find videos, articles, and a recorded webinar (below).

 

Related Resources

Start a new deal within hours, not days.

We start 10,000+ new data rooms a year for over 100,000 dealmakers.

Get Started