Planned maintenance: Please be advised that our platform is temporarily unavailable for maintenance on September 27th from 2:00 AM EDT to 7:00 AM EDT.

Cannot add, move, or re-activate a user due to conflict in project and content roles

Symptom

In a migrated project, when trying to add, move, or re-activate a user, you receive the following message:

Users with a Project Role of Member cannot be added to a Group with Content Role of Administrator on any content.

Cause

Firmex is preventing you from adding, moving, or re-activating a user with a project role of Member to a group that has a folder Content Role of Administrator set on it. Allowing this operation would result in a security conflict. This conflict would occur when permission has been set at the folder level, by group, to Administrator, and the user you are trying to add, move, or re-activate has a project role of Member.

Resolution

If you encounter this message, do one of the following:

  1. Move the user to another group.
  2. Change the user's Project Role from Member to a higher Project Role (e.g. Manager).
  3. Change the folder-level permission from being "By Group" to "By User". To find the folder, run the Reports > User Access > By Folder report for the target group.

 

From the Blog

More Virtual Data Room Insights

Can't find what you're looking for?

Get instant answers to the most common questions and learn how to use Firmex like a pro. If you need immediate help, reach our support team 24/7 using the link below:

Submit a Request